Uncategorized

Summer 2015

My summer vacation is well underway, and it’s been as relaxing as can be.

I’ve been going to a gene diagnostic laboratory in my city, as part of an internship, for 5 hours a day, 3 times a week. I’m literally getting to see part of what I’d hopefully be doing a few years down the line. Mostly, I just observed all the proceedings the first month, when I was finally allowed to extract my own DNA from my blood. HOW COOL IS THAT?! I even ran a PCR on it, checking for a known, blood clotting mutation. One which I saw that I don’t have. Besides that, the other people working there give me some small tasks to do, mainly data work. And when I’m not doing anything, I just catch up on what the world has been discovering in the science stream.

I’ve also started exercising strictly, waking up at 5.50 a.m. in the morning, and going to fitness training for an hour and a half, 4 days a week. I’ve already become so much fitter, and, since the last half hour is basic stretching and yoga, I’ve gotten a lot more flexible. Like, insanely. So, that’s good.

So, on the days that I don’t go to the lab, I’ve been spending time with my friends, and going shopping. I’m on the committee of the Newcastle South Asian Society, as the publicity officer, so I’m in charge of the flyers and stuff. Anyway, since we have a Diwali Ball, and we’re planning a lot of cultural events, I didn’t have any traditional dresses, so I had been on hunt for those. I found a gorgeous sari, and a beautiful anarkali, both of which I’m very excited about wearing. And then, general shopping for other stuff, and gifts for my friends at Uni.

I binge watched The Mindy Project and Scandal, and now today, it suddenly feels truly like summer. The sun is shining, it’s very warm outside, and I don’t have anything to do. I’m planning to visit my old school, meet the teachers, and go shoe shopping in the evening, but eh. I’m not sure about about any of those.

I go back in a month, and won’t be coming back till until after June next year. Hopefully I’ll get a part-time job there, so I can pay for a trip to Amsterdam in Christmas with my friends, and I’m going to my aunt’s in Canada, in Easter break. And it’s going to be a very busy year. But, I’m more than ready to take it on.

Leave a Reply

