Summer 2014 · UCAS · UK

Decisions, Decisions

So, I’m probably not getting into Sheffield. That’s a big a bummer as any.

I didn’t actually get the grades they asked for in Chemistry, so it’s probably a fail. I’m just waiting for the final word from their faculty. On the other hand, I got way more than they had asked for in Biology.

My counselor said that I have “very poor” chances of getting in.

I mean, who says that?

Yeah, sure, I know it’s difficult, and I don’t live in my head, in a world of my own, where everything goes my way, but, come on!  No one wants to be told that they aren’t deserving and have a “very poor” chance of getting into their dream college, when they don’t even know how hard I’ve worked. “Very poor” is a high exaggeration, and to be honest, I’m actually happy with my marks. To have it pushed into your face that they’re not, is just plain cruel.

It’s difficult digesting the fact that when you give something your very, absolute best, it’s still not good enough by certain standards.

I got a 92 in German, for God’s sake! And I’m above the average percentage, as well, I think.

Leeds did offer me an alternative degree to Genetics, BSc Biology, but I don’t want to study plants and animals for the better part of my degree! Yeah, they have various Genetics modules in year 2 and 3, but the core subjects still focus on general biology.

I’d already applied to the colleges in my city as a backup, so that’s the route I’ll probably go on. But, doing Microbiology isn’t really my choice of degree, the one I really want to study. The colleges are all renowned internationally, but this was the last resort plan. And that means I’ll have do some project or a diploma or something, because I’m going to do my Masters in the US, and they require 16 years of education.

I’m feeling all up in the air right now and I’m so confused. Sigh.

On a side note, I uploaded this week’s video, and because I was sick last week, I’m going to be filming one more video tomorrow. I’m doing something different, a gaming video. Let’s see how that goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

