study abroad india · UCAS · UK

When I Grow Up… Step I: Decisions

Well, time up. Society says I’m all grown up. I beg to differ. So, now, time to make life-altering decisions. Even though I’ve lived only 17 years of my life and they say I’m supposed to know what I want to do in life. I think I’d like to play computer games. But, hey, what do I know?

I’m currently studying in Class 12 in India, in a city not far away from Mumbai.

In Class 10, I started to wonder what I was going to do further, in terms of studies. Having loved a lesson on genes the same year, I researched more on the internet, and found out that, yes, this is what I want to do.
Specifically, Medical Genetics, where I would learn all about the amazing world of genes, essentially our origin, while also being able to help in eradicating the numerous disorders that are threatening mankind.
After talking and meeting loads of people, my parents I decided that there wouldn’t be any harm in applying to a place abroad. 

The UK or USA?

After deliberating for about four months, my parents and I came to the decision that the UK would be my best bet. Not only would I get my degree a year earlier, it’s also closer to home.
Thoroughly looking up the universities and courses online on UCAS, and the university websites, I decided on the following. We can choose upto five universities to send via the UCAS form.
In order of preference,
1. University of Sheffield – Medical Genetics
2. University of Nottingham – Human Genetics
3. Queen Mary, University of London – Medical Genetics
4. University of Leeds – Genetics
5. University Of Exeter – Biological Sciences
I really want to get into Sheffield, as not only do they have the programme best suited to my interests, but it’s a lovely little city from what I heard and seen on the internet. I’m really hoping to study there. Let’s see.
Leave a Reply

